This is how Kolberg described Puławy:
Puławy by the Vistula river is famous for its palace and Czartoryski’s garden. In 1831 it was taken over by the Russian government which created here an educational centre for girls and later when the centre was moved to Warsaw, a school of agriculture. There are many descriptions of the palace, the garden, the library and souvenirs collected in the Sybil temple and the Gothic house. In 1830 the souvenirs were removed to a safer place abroad. Villages in the vicinity of Puławy such as Włostowice, Marynki, Parchatka, Góra are also very charming”.
He documented also clothes of peasants living in the nearby area:
“They wear navy blue russet coats (like some landlords) with red linen belts”.
Kolberg collected here also many songs including wedding songs or carols.
The following note about Ogrodzieniec and its castle comes from Kolberg work:
“The town of Ogrodzieniec has remains of the old castle of Firlej and Bonar families, located on a mountain with settlements outside castle walls”.
“The castle of Ogrodzieniec belonged to the Włodko family, who in 1384 called themselves the family of Ogrodzieniec”.
Kolberg collected there many songs and ditties.